BFGoodrich Tires Remains King of the Hammers Official Tire

JOHNSON VALLEY, CA,   FEBRAURY 4, 2010:  BFGoodrich Tires continues its reign as the 2010 Griffin King of the Hammers Official Tire.  BFGoodrich Tires takes the King of the Hammers race seriously to the point of developing multiple different tires specific for this event and supporting a crew of professional drivers.

“We are proud to have BFGoodrich Tires on our team.  They offer not only great support to our drivers, but also to our event with the BFGoodrich Tires Information and Media Center and also the tools and technology for assisting with race communication,” said race promoter Dave Cole.

The last two years have brought home the scepter for BFGoodrich Tires, with Kings Jason Scherer and Shannon Campbell taking the wins.  “The King of the Hammers race is the perfect next level of proving ground for us.  We are proven in rocks.  We are proven in desert.  Now combine the two, and climb rocks after having to maintain high speed through the desert.  It’s exciting to watch this race, and to know that BFGoodrich tires succeed time and time again and prove that success by dominating the podium,” said Roberts Kukainis, BFGoodrich Tires motorsports manager.

This year, BFGoodrich Tires again has a star studded line up.  Rob MacCachren will add one more discipline of racing to his extremely impressive career with a starting spot in the King of the Hammers.  Driving a BlueTorch Fab car, MacCachren will be joined by legends of the sport and past rockcrawling champions Larry McRae, Jon Bundrant and Jon Nelson building a very impressive and aggressive team that is bound for success.

The starting line will be BFGoodrich Tires lined with both Buzz Bronsema and Rich Mooneyham running the BFGoodrich Baja T/AKRT.  BFGoodrich Tires has many other team drivers on the starting grid including Greg Adler, Tracy Jordan, two time 2nd place finisher Casey Currie, John Reynolds, Dean Bulloch and Tom Wayes.

BFGoodrich Tires has successfully developed a new tire that took the existing desert tire with modifications to account for the rocks.  The BFGoodrich Baja T/AKRT tire is the perfect tire to go precisely through the rocks and across the desert at high speeds that handles high pressure and is puncture resistant.  This year BFGoodrich Tires is introducing another tire to their King of the Hammers specific line up, the BFGoodrich Baja TAKR tire which is a 42×13.50R20 tire.  Yes, two major size changes in the tire height and the rim.  BFGoodrich Tires team driver and Ultra4 Vegas to Reno champion Kevin Sacalas will be the only driver running these tires on Friday February 12, 2010.

As with all desert races, BFGoodrich Tires will have their complete crew of top notch workers on site to help support the Drivers.  They will also be hosting a BFGoodrich Tires remote pit.

BFGoodrich Tires

Using motorsports as a proving ground for more than 30 years, BFGoodrich Tires is involved in every type of racing, including oval, sports car, drifting, drag, desert, dirt, rally, and extreme rock-crawling.  BFGoodrich Tires combines technological expertise with vast motorsports experience, delivering a high-performance tire for every type of vehicle.  Visit BFGoodrich Tires online at

Hammerking Productions, Inc. created the “King of the Hammers” off-road race in 2007 ( and released its first full-length film in 2008.  The 2010 Griffin King of the Hammers will be held on Friday February 12th, 2010 where over 15,000 drivers and fans from around the globe will descend on the desert of Johnson Valley for over a week of off-road related activities.  The 2009 running of the King of the Hammers was featured on Spike TV and in the film “Second Crusade.”  In 2009, Hammerking expanded race action to include three additional regional qualifiers for the 2010 race.  More information can be found at

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>