BFGoodrich® Tires Offers $5000 Contingency 2014 Griffin King of the Hammers

ABCRandy-Slawson-King-koh-2013-Bower-Media1-300x200 GREENVILLE, SC (Jan 31, 2014) – BFGoodrich® Tires is announcing a $5000 contingency award for the winner of the 2014 Griffin King of the Hammers. BFGoodrich has been the winning tire choice at the King of the Hammers the past two years and a total of five of the six total races. The BFGoodrich Tires team will be onsite and offering tire support from Monday afternoon thru Saturday morning, with full pit service available on Friday February 7th at Main Pit.

“This year’s racing season commences again with one of the most brutal challenges for racers, trucks and tires at the King of the Hammers,” said Peter Calhoun, Motorsports Manager, BFGoodrich Tires. “We’ve been proud to have provided the tire solution tough enough to endure the hazards of this race and been on the winning racer’s truck the last two years and five times total in this event. We are equally proud to provide a strong contingency presence this year to support the BFGoodrich racing communities’ important event.”

There are a significant number of drivers that will take on the harshest terrain in the US using BFGoodrich Tires. Notably, the current King Randy Slawson, Poison Spyder Larry McRae, Gomez Brothers Marcos Gomez, Monster Energy Casey Currie and Champion Race Works TJ Flores will be qualifying for Friday’s starting positions during Tuesday’s Power Hour. Last year’s third place finisher Chicky Barton, Lovell Racing and Team BFGoodrich member Brad Lovell, Gomez Brothers JP Gomez, Jimmy’s 4×4 Travis Cook and ProFender Brian Tilton will be qualifying during Wednesday’s Power Hour.

ABCRandy-Slawson-Finishes-300x225“The BFGoodrich Tires played a big part in our win last year. We were blown away with the tires performance, just when we thought we were stuck, we gave it a little more gas, the tires stuck and pulled us through the rocks,” said Randy Slawson, the winner of the 2013 King of the Hammers. “We are prepared to go out this year with BFG’s newest Baja T/A KR2 prototype tire and defend the crown with determination and motivation to finish first again.“

The $5,000 contingency prize is available for the winner of the King of the Hammers if they are running BFGoodrich tires, have BFGoodrich decals on the car and a BFGoodrich approved patch on the drivers suit. Decals can be acquired at the semi during the week or during contingency on Wednesday afternoon. Historically, BFG has been the tire of choice for five of the six past Kings:

2008: Shannon Campbell – BFG
2009: Jason Scherer and Jason Berger – BFG
2010: Loren Healy and Rodney Woody – BFG
2012: Erik Miller and Robert Ruggiero – BFG
2013: Randy Slawson and Michael Slawson – BFG


The full BFGoodrich Tires support team will be available at the semi lining pit row on Griffin Expressway Monday thru Saturday morning for any type of tire support. The recommended tires for Friday’s King of the Hammers race are the 39” BFGoodrich Baja T/A KRT-B. The recommended tires for Thursday’s Every Man Challenge race include the DOT Blue Label Krawler T/A KX or the Mud-Terrain T/A KM2.

For more information on all the BFGoodrich Racing happening throughout the week of King of the Hammers and every weekend across the country, visit Join the chatter on our Facebook page or on Twitter at


About BFGoodrich Tires

Using motorsports as a proving ground for more than 40 years, BFGoodrich Tires is involved in every type of racing, including sports car, drag, desert, dirt, rally and extreme rock crawling. BFGoodrich Tires combines technological expertise with vast motorsports experience, delivering a high-performance tire for every type of vehicle. Visit the BFGoodrich Tires Racing site at on Facebook at or on Twitter at @BFGoodrichTires.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>